skip to Main Content

CPD Commitment

In reality, CPD can mean anything and everything from participating in a training course, attending an educational event, studying for a new qualification, or learning new aspects of how the funeral home operates within the local community of which the business serves.

Continuing Professional Development is a commitment learning – CPD provides opportunity to focus on enriching knowledge, identifying opportunities to learn something new, refresh existing knowledge, improve skills, or simply keep up-to date with the latest developments within the funeral profession.

How many hours of CPD?

Annual CPD points requirements: 15

CPD points are units that quantify the time and quality of learning and development (L&D) activities.

One hour of Learning and Development roughly equates to one CPD point.
Expectations are for you to:

  • achieve 15 CPD points over the course of 12 months through engaging a
    range of Learning and Development activities
  • record your points – and what you learned

Types – CPD Your Choice

You have the choice to make your own decisions about what CPD activities you engage in.

You can choose which activities are most beneficial to you for example from NAFD Inspire, or you may wish to pursue some of your own – either way, continuous professional development is what makes a difference.

Click below to begin your journey and register on the NAFD Inspire site:

Other types of CPD activity include:

  • Completing online and face to face training
  • Attending or listening to seminars and podcasts
  • Attending or participation at Conferences and events
  • Discussion and learning together with colleagues
  • Work shadowing another funeral related role
  • Supervising staff or new starters
  • Gaining and learning from work related experience
  • Involvement in the wider, profession-related work of your employer (for example, being a representative on a local community group)
Back To Top

    Allow 48 hours for response, Monday – Friday.